Jet Set Radio: A Blast From the Past

A simpler time…

Jet-Set-Radio-Screenshot-1

Feel the beat

Feel the beat – Start game for the first time

Gamerscore = 5     Unlocked on 19/09/2012


Another lengthy absence from my blog, it took something special to get me back, and that event was the release of Jet Set Radio!  I remember when I purchased this game for the first time.  It of course was a Sega Dreamcast classic title, I was getting married in Las Vegas in November of 2000.  I picked it up at an EB Games in a mall (wish I would have picked up those Samba De Amigo maracas as well) and packed it away for my inevitable return home.

screenlg4

Well I did return home, but not before a bout of food poisoning from the Las Vegas airport.  I spent the travel day home as sick as a dog, vomiting in the airplane, ears not popping due to the pressure, I was a wreck when I got home…but it did not dampen my enthusiasm for the opportunity to finally play Jet Set Radio (Jet Grind at that time due to some legal considerations which apparently have been resolved).

I loved the game, even with its funky controls.  It was cell shadings moment of arrival, it was X-Games gameplay with a story and a twist, it was also oozing with art and style like no other game of its time.  Jet Set Radio was unique, and it was Sega at its finest when their games still played on their hardware.  As I mentioned earlier, a simpler time.

screenlg7

Today, revisiting Jet Set Radio on my Xbox 360, I was transported back to a time when my passion for gaming was burgeoning along with the Sega Dreamcast.  Listening to the soundtrack today was such a trip, I probably couldn’t wipe the smile off my face if I tried.  And if you have followed this blog before, and maybe not so much as the updated have become few and far between, with my life and schedule the way it is, it was a fantastic feeling to have that trip back.

All that history and good feelings aside, playing the game again was a lot of fun.  I think I still have an old Tips & Tricks magazine around so I can unlock all the game’s secrets so I can gain all the achievements.  For Jet Set Radio…all the work of play will be worth it!

SEGA :: GAMES :: Jet Set Radio

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

