The Skyrim Weekly: The Way of the Voice

Shout at the Devil!

Skyrim at the Citadel of the Greybeards

beard

The Way of the Voice – Complete “The Way of the Voice”

Gamerscore = 20     Unlocked on 12/01/2012


With new year is well upon us and I am slowly getting my Skyrim play on.  I have been reluctant to leave home (Whiterun) and have been doing most of my quests at or near that hold.  This week I decided to branch of and hit the mountains in search of the Greybeards.  Apparently they know a thing or two about those who are Dragonborn and the shouts they wield.  So I left the comforts of home and ventured off to see what I could see.

Skyrim Ascent of High Hrothgar

In order to scale the mountain and reach High Hrothgar, the outpost of the monk-like Greybeards, I first had to make my way to the opposite side of the mountain from Whiterun.  Now the mountains of Skyrim are quite substantial.  It took me about a game-day to discover and cross the bath that would get me to the foot of the mountain to begin my journey.

After that it was almost equally as long a journey to make my way up the mountain.  Winding paths and stone stairs greet you on the long trek up the mountain.  And once you start there are a series of nasty creatures waiting to stymy your progress.  I spent more time sneaking than striking in order to make my way up the jagged steps to High Hrothgar.

Geezers

The trek to this retreat was definitely worth it.  I was able to learn new shouts which translate to abilities.  The training goes fairly quickly and I soon found myself heading back down the mountain.  The sights and scope of Skyrim really open up when you are at the top of its highest mountain!

830px-Sanguine2

During my last post I mentioned that I received the Daedric artefact, Sanguine Rose, which will summon a Dremora (or Sanguine himself) to fight along side you for 69 seconds.  I tried it out on a particularly nasty troll that was blocking my path.  The Dremora made short work of him.

That is all for this week’s Skyrim Weekly.  Even though Skyrim is a great game, and is my game of the year, I may focus my energies on completing the main story line.  There are some significant titles on the horizon, so if I get Skyrim’s story complete, I can return to it casually to enjoy at my leisure.  So expect some story revelations in upcoming SW’s.

The Elder Scrolls Official Site | Skyrim

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Bethesda, Fantasy, Open World, RPG, The Elder Scrolls. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Skyrim Weekly: The Way of the Voice

  1. backdraft123 says:

    Im thinking of doing a character restart. I’ve strapped on the best armor that I can make at this point and find it fairly easy to dispose of enemies. I’ve done quite bit of exploring for only playing the game just shy of 60 hrs. But there are a few more quests I’d like to complete (College of Winterhold and The Companion Guild) also, I wanna try out getting married!

Leave a Reply

