Mission Accomplished: Halo Combat Evolved Anniversary

Halo. Its Finished.  No, I think we’re just getting started.

halo_anniversary_menu_concept_2

boas

Birth of a Spartan – Complete every level of the game on Normal difficulty

Gamerscore = 10     Unlocked on 30/12/2011


Today I was able to knock off another one of my holiday gaming projects, that being the completion of Halo: CE Anniversary.  Now I guess saying completed may not be the right term.  I did get through the campaign.  But as for completing on co-op, collecting the skulls as terminals, and capturing all the items for the library, well I still have a ways to go.  For these other accomplishments I can certainly chip away at over the next several months as my focus will remain on the multiplayer, but I do look forward to co-op completion as Halo is always better with a friend.  As I have completed the game I do have a few insights to share, so if you are interested, please read on.

Halo-Combat-Evolved-Anniversary

The first thing that I will say about Halo Anniversary is that it is hard!  Not unbeatably hard, but certainly more difficult than the Halo games that have came along since.  I was beginning to think I was Halo-Pro, but playing the original has humbled me a bit.  I know I have always been a ‘better-than-average’ Halo player at best, but Anniversary hammered that point home. 

This is not to say that this has been a negative experience, on the contrary, HCE Anniversary is a spectacular product that brings this classic, genre defining FPS console experience into the modern era with the graphical upgrade that it was sorely lacking.  I always thought that Halo: CE was a great looking game, that it even held its own, but with what Saber Interactive was able to do with the original, well it really has to be seen to be believed.  As a huge fan of the art style and the look of the Halo universe, this was a most welcomed edition (as long as you can get past the ‘fins’ on the Halo itself).

Halo-anniversary-screen-shot-campaign-guilty-spark

The campaign is very memorable, which is probably due in part to all the back-tracking you have to do throughout.   This is not a new complaint, and those who are familiar with the story of the game’s production will understand why this is so, but ten years later and I think I noticed it more than in previous playthroughs.  Bungie (along with Saber’s updating), did at least attempt to make your second time through areas different enough that you may not notice it as much.  That ant the Covies and Floods have you so busy one hardly has time to think about where they are and what they need to do.  The enemies are relentless, and that is only on the normal level.

HaloAni

Probably my favourite addition is the inclusion of the Terminals, of course made famous in Halo 3.  The Terminals add those additional story elements that knit Halo Anniversary that much more tighter into the lore that blossomed around the original and future games, books, etc., in the series.  I am looking forwards to tracking them all down, along with the skulls, so I can earn those achievements and to also see what story gems are hidden within those Terminals.

halo_anniversary_menu_concept_1

I won’t drone on too much more about this game.  Better Halo scholars than myself have put in there two cents and then some on the subject of Halo Anniversary and its pros and cons, for me I just enjoy having the chance to write about some new experiences within this universe that I enjoy so much. 

As I write this we are on the eve of New Years Eve 2011.  And as we approach the much-hyped year of 2012, there is going to be a new Halo game near its end, and I am certain we will be discussing Halo 4’s 10th anniversary in 2022 with as much excitement as Combat Evolve d’s anniversary this year past!

Halo: Anniversary Halo Official Site

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, FPS, Halo, Military, Mission Accomplished, Sci-Fi, Xbox, Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

