Halo Highlight Reel: Happy Halo-days!

Reach-out to your friends!

Bungie ❤

Banshee I’ll Be Taking That!  – Pilot a Banshee on the level “Assault on the Control Room.”                                                                                                                Gamerscore = 25     Unlocked on 13/12/2011


Is there any other time better in the year to enjoy Halo than the Christmas season?  I think not.  With the short days, the cold weather, and family and friends sharing time off there is always time for some good-old fashioned Halo.  Earlier this evening I watched the above Bungie ViDoc “O Brave New World” which is such a treat as I love revisiting the past of the Halo franchise.  The past of the Halo franchise is currently our present as Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary has been front and centre this holiday season.  But it is not all about Halo Anniversary.  There is a lot of Halo holiday fun to be had.  Here is a sample of what I have in store for the Halo-days.

halo_anniversary_ost_concept_cover

The Campaign of the Decade

I have had an incredibly busy holiday season this year, perhaps my busiest ever.  As a result I have fallen behind in my campaign playthrough of Anniversary.  I plan to make amends for that by pushing forward and having the campaign completed before the end of my Christmas vacation.  This should not be too difficult of a task as I am already nearing the half-way point of the game.  So far I am really enjoying the updated look of the game.  Halo games have always had the best sky-boxes, and Halo Anniversary only adds to the legend.  Look for a ‘Mission Accomplished’ post featuring Halo coming soon.

Blood Brothers

Accepting the Challenge

Since Halo Anniversary arrived, so has the ability for Halo gamers to create Custom Challenges. I have only just began to explore this new Halo Waypoint feature where you and you friends can set up Challenges amongst yourselves to increase the stakes of involvement in Halo Reach multiplayer.  That and the inclusion of the Anniversary Map Pack and the world of Reach multiplayer has become an increasingly more exciting place.  Part of my Halo-days will be exploring the Custom Challenges, and as such I will be sending out invites to my friends to see if they will step up and accept the challenges I set forth.  I hope that they will do the same so we can really bolster our credit situation.  It should be fun!

halo-forerunner-9-cvr

Exiting the Cryptum

I finally got through Halo: Cryptum this week.  When I first started reading this book early this year I was tearing through it as I was really exited to read more about the Forerunners as they are such a mysterious part of the Halo fiction and lore.  As it has been such a busy year my hobbies have taken somewhat of a backseat at times, and Cryptum was one of the victims.  Nevertheless, I did finish the book, it was great, and i am really excited for the second part in the trilogy, Primordium.  In the order for Primordium I am also looking to pickup Glasslands as it is the story that is supposed to bridge the events of Halo 3 and 4.  While I am waiting I started to read Ghosts of Onyx which was an great addition to the Halo fiction, and if I am not mistaken, introduced us to the Spartan III’s.

Close Shot

Side-Stories

If I get a chance amongst all this Halo action I would like to revisit Halo 3: ODST as it is one of my most favourite of Halo games.  What is also great about it is the campaign has all of the Halo hallmarks, adds some new wrinkles, and condenses it into a really tight campaign.  ODST is for me a real gaming treat, and as my son has never played it I would really like to take him for the ride.

Halo Wars is always sticking in the back of my mind as well.  Perhaps I can convince my brother to once again join me in some co-op action.  I like prepping the bases and resources in the game so I would gladly take that share of the work!

modcast-logo_widget300

Halo on the Go

Lately I have been catching up with Halo Waypoint community podcast, Waypoint Community Modcast.  This podcast features several of the Halo Waypoint community leaders and is lead by CruelLEGACY.  I have attempted to listen to several community-driven podcasts in the past, but I quickly grew sick of their inside jokes, constant laughing at their own non-sense, and technical issues.  Now WCM has all these as part of their dynamic as well, but their knowledge, passion for the games and community, and their ability to get quickly back on track makes for an enjoyable listen.  I wouldn’t keep coming back for more if I wasn’t having fun, and I am having fun with them.  If  the WCM guys are reading this, keep up the good work!


Well that is another HHR post in the books.  I have been enjoying my recent Halo renaissance, and with Halo 4 just around the corner it looks like there will be no end in sight!  As for now I need to spend some quality time with the Master Chief, so until next time, stay frosty!

Halo Official Site

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Books, Halo, Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Halo Highlight Reel: Happy Halo-days!

  1. CruelLEGACEY says:

    Great post! It really is a great time to be a Halo fan these days 🙂
    And thanks for the kind words about the Modcast. The show is definitely a little rough around the edges, but I do think we have a great core group. I think the show is getting better with each episode, and I hope the listeners keep enjoying what we do!

    Happy holidays 🙂

    • SUPERGHOST says:

      Thanks for the re-tweet, comment, and Like! I hope I did not sound too harsh when talking about the ‘cast. I really do look forward to each show, and I do appreciate having a little Halo in my ear when I cannot be playing the games (or in today’s case, while I am playing the game).

      Keep those ‘casts coming!

Leave a Reply

