SUPERGHOST’s Fright Week: Castlevania – Lords of Shadow

On all Hallows’ Eve…there be monsters!

CAstlevania_Lords_OF_Shadown

ExperiencedExperienced – Acquire 1000 experience points

Gamerscore = 10     Unlocked on 27/09/2011


With this post I will be bringing my 2011 edition of SUPERGHOST’s Fright Week to a conclusion on the eve of Halloween.  Between work and trick ‘r treating I will be pretty tied up tomorrow, so with that I will draw the curtain with one of my most recent purchases.

The franchise of the game I am about to discuss has one of the longest continual legacies in the realm of scary-themed gaming, that franchise is Castlevania.  The most recent instalment to date is the 3D, Kojima Productions produced, Lords of Shadow.  And while I have always enjoyed Castlevania for its Dracula-hunting goodness, Lords of Shadow takes on all the creatures of darkness, and that is why I think this is a great game to wrap up Fright Week with.

Castlevania-Lords-of-Shadow-Demon-Slaying

While I have not played an excessive amount of this game as of yet, I have played enough to realize it is a great game.  And while I have only seen a few of the game’s creature offerings thus far, I did purchase the game guide, and with that there is a laundry list of ‘creatures of the night’ that can be encountered.  For example:

  • Vampires
  • Chupacabres
  • Trolls
  • Lycanthropes and Wargs
  • Baba Yaga
  • Zombies and corpses
  • Scarecrows
  • Ghouls, skeletons, and so on!

All this an it is set in the forests of old-world Europe. 

As you can perhaps guess from the games I have described in Fright Week, I have a lot to play, so Castlevania has found itself lurking off to the side for the moment.  But when the time comes, and I want to dispatch the creatures of darkness, the first place I will go is to Castlevania: Lords of Shadow.


halloween-can

 

And with that, Fright Week has drawn to a close.  Everybody have a safe and spooky Halloween, and I will see you with more thrills and chills for Fright Week 2012!

Castlevania -Lords of Shadow

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Survival-Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

