Denied: Dead Island

Killing Zombies somewhere else in the meantime…

dead-island-wallpapers_27206_1920x1200

In light of all the must have games due this Fall, and combined with shrinking money and time, I gave Dead Island the short shrift and did not keep up with it at all.  This week Dead Island was released and I started to here Dead Island compared to Fallout, Borderlands, Left 4 Dead, and other games I absolutely love.  How did I let this happen?  I went out this afternoon to rectify my mistake, but if you can extrapolate from the title of my post that it did not really work out.  All is not lost though, it is just going to take a little time to get on track…

dead-island-coop

Until September 11th, EB Games here was offering an additional 50% credit on trade-ins towards several games including Dead Island and Space Marine.  I decided to thin the heard and make way for some of the new Fall line-up as well as freeing up some cash allowing me to afford Dead Island.  Here is what I did away with:

  • Grand Theft Auto IV: Was able to score approximately $10 credit on this one.  I have not played in forever and you can pick up GTA IV complete on the cheap.  Great game, but expendable at this time.
  • Saints Row Double Pak:  Failed experiment, but at least I will still have access to Saints Row: The Third’s beta!
  • Brink: Another cool game, but the mechanics make it difficult to want to go back to.  I think I was about even with this after the trade.
  • Lego Star Wars:  Haven’t played in forever and no desire to.  My son is no longer interested also.  Decent trade value so better off going to a zombie game!
  • Tomb Raider Anniversary: Again, another expendable title as well as some moderately decent credit considering its age.
  • F.E.A.R. 2: Extra copy, received one for free when I purchased F3AR.

dead-island-logo-650

Well as the old saying goes, you snooze, you lose.  All of the copies at all of the EB Games were sold out, and with time running out on the trade-in deal I had to go to plan B.  The credit from the games paid for the copy of Space Marines that I originally pre-ordered, when Dead Island comes back in stock I will return Space Marine and secure my Dead Island getaway!

It is a round-a-bout way of doing things, but sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do!  I can’t wait to get my hands on this one.

Dead Island

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Xbox 360 Sports, Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

