Dreamcast Collection: Space Channel 5 Part 2

chu, chu, CHU!

space-channel-5-ulala-1

Hello WorldHello World – Hello viewers, this is Ulala coming to you live for Space Channel5!   Gamerscore = 5   Unlocked on 02/09/2011


Several months ago I posted about my brief desire to own the Dreamcast Collection for the Xbox 360.  I was mainly interested in it for Sega Bass Fishing and Space Channel 5: Part 2.  As in mu opinion I already owned a superior version of Bass Fishing on my current DC, SC5 Part 2 would be the lone game I did not have in my collection already, and that was primarily due to the fact that it was night released on this side of the pond.  I ended up not purchasing it at the time as I was a little sensitive to is price.

This past weekend I dug the DC Collection out of the discount bin at WalMart for a mere $15.  This was a price point I could get behind.  So last night I played Space Channel 5 Part 2 for the first time, and after recently playing its predecessor on the DC and having a blast, its sequel is every bit better, and stands the test of time.

SC5two

Space Channel 5 games at their core are rhythm games, back before rhythm was cool…and not cool again.  While the mechanics are not what brings you to this game, it is the campy story and colourful art style that really sets this series apart.  Game creator Tetsuya Mizuguchi is famous for his music, and music in games, and Space Channel 5 stands apart from the rest with its human (and Space Michael) touch!

What is most telling about this game, and from playing it last night, is the game just puts a big smile on my face.  I am almost giddy because you never know what crazy character, or crazy rescued citizen you will encounter next, and Ulala’s dance moves are something to behold.

shhfm-3

I would be quite interested to see what a 2011 version of this franchise would look and play like, but I suspect on the less than stellar performance of Child of Eden in stores, that may be a while, if ever, to arrive.  I hope to soon write an extended post Tetsuya Mizuguchi and my experience with his games, but that may be a little ways off with the games of Fall fast approaching.  Long live Ulala!

Space Channel 5 Part 2

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Dreamcast, Music, Retro, Rhythm, Sega, XBLA, Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

