The Games of Commodore 64 Week: Zak McKracken

Look out Maniac, its Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders!

zakoldreal1

Maniac Mansion left such an impression on me in my youth that I craved more games like it.  Games with adventure, mystery, and comedy. Fortunately LucasArts delivered in dynamic fashion by producing a globe-trotting (and solar-system trotting) epic follow up in the form of Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders!

Aliens…Mindbending!

Zak, like Maniac, tackled subjects and world locals that interested me back in the day.  Alien invasions, Stonehenge, the Nazca lines, the face on Mars, and so on.  While strange, it was nice for the creators (which include gaming legend, Ron Gilbert) to use their trademark humour to keep you laughing as well as intrigued.

Zak_McKracken_artwork

Like Maniac Mansion, I long for the day that LucasArts re-releases these games for the next-generation of gamers.  So many have just heard the legends, but never got to experience these titles for themselves.  Monkey Island 1 and 2 have seen XBLA releases, I think these two deserve the same.

Since I have my C64 back up and running, I think this game should be one of the first I explore for old times sake.  I still have all the documentation (and the codes for the copy protection) so I am good to go.  Perhaps it is time to get my ass back to Mars!

The Zak McKracken Archive

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Commodore, PC, Puzzle, Retro. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

