Up Next: F.E.A.R. 3

Brothers in arms…

fear3

Next week F.E.A.R. 3 (aka F.3.A.R.) hits the stores an continuing, and perhaps completing, the Point Man/Paxton Fettel/Alma story arc.  I have always been a fan of paranormal in my video games and survival-horror titles, so when FEAR came on the scene several years ago I was excited that paranormal based First Person Shooter was on the market and that it had a Ring-esque feel to it.  It turns out, in my opinion, that FEAR was heavier on the FPS and lighter on the paranormal for the bulk of the game, but that was fine because FEAR is one of the finest FPSs of its time in spite of its repetitive backdrops.

The FEAR franchise is distinctive in the games industry for having a divergent or alternate story line.  FEAR Files followed up FEAR by in part continuing the story of the Point Man and the FEAR team after the events of FEAR prime.  FEAR 2 however disregards the events of FEAR Files and takes the story in an all-new post FEAR direction.  Again we find ourselves at the control of another FEAR operative, and another FEAR squad with Alma retaining her position as the series antagonist.  The events of FEAR 2 bleed into FEAR 3 solidifying this arc as the dominant storyline.

FEAR-3-screenshot

FEAR 2, though retaining the bullet time and atmosphere of the FEAR franchise as well as introducing Mechs to the series, felt a little vanilla to me.  FEAR 3 has me excited as you will be playing co-op with the Point Man and Paxton Fettel, brothers and enemies having to work together, will definitely make for a more interesting story dynamic.  I have also saw some of what is planned for other multiplayer modes and they look unique and interesting and may pull the FEAR series multiplayer out of the doldrums and perhaps a legitimate contender for your time.

I am expecting good things from FEAR 3.  I am hoping I can line up a co-op partner because I think the story will be more fun with a buddy.  I will let you know how it works out in a future post.

What is F.E.A.R.?

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Co-op, FPS, Survival-Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

