Following my Gut: L.A. Noire

I love L.A.!

LAnoire

Police AcademyPolice Academy – Complete all cases on the Patrol desk.                                   Gamerscore = 15   acquired on 22/05/2011


With my recent history of Rockstar games, that being immensely impressed then quickly immensely overwhelmed, I did not follow the hype too closely for L.A. Noire.  I thought to myself  that I didn’t want to commit myself to another giant Rockstar open world, and with a lot of games left on my plate, I opted out of L.A. Noire.

In an unforeseen turn of events I found myself listening to the latest Giant Bombcast, therein they described in detail what L.A. Noire was all about, and it was I wanted to hear.  As I recently posted I have just completed great stories in Portal 2 and Enslaved, I thought why not keep it going with L.A. Noire.

LAnoire question

I have always loved the mid-twentieth century aesthetic, be it from games like BioShock or Fallout, or TV programs like Mad Men.  L.A. Noire has it in spades, in fact it may be the most fully realized take of that time and place (late 1940s Los Angeles) that has ever been put to screen.

Last night I had to force myself to stop playing.  L.A. Noire took me in with its unique gameplay and incredible facial animations.  I really enjoy the linearity of this game.  What turned my off of GTA IV and Red Dead Redemption were that they were too open and I could not keep myself on task.  L.A. Noire keeps you going on a case-by-case basis with optional street missions to supplement your gameplay.  I have been so busy and captivated by the story that I have hardly even took the time to explore the recreated Los Angeles.

hollywoodland

I have always been a fan of mysteries on great storytelling.  L.A. Noire scratches that itch like no other, yet still maintains that action gaming feel that gamer’s crave.  I can’t wait until my next trip to 1940s L.A.!

Home | L.A. Noire

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Puzzle, Rockstar. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Following my Gut: L.A. Noire

  1. Aaron says:

    I have been talking up this game for some time. I’m glad you picked it up. The feature videos on the marketplace show what the game is like nicely.

Leave a Reply

