Mission Accomplished: Portal 2

I am so GlaD(os) I played this game!

portal-2-chell

LunacyLunacy – That just happened                                                                                   Gamerscore = 20   Acquired on 20/05/2011


What an adventure!  For me, that is the best way to describe Portal 2.  Back when we were first seeing images of the game we saw an overgrown Aperture science, as if ‘the jungle’ took over.  We knew that co-op play was going to be incorporated, and more recently I knew that Aperture Science founder Cave Johnson was to be part of the game.  After that tidbit I went out of my way to not find out any more about the game, I went on an information blackout, and I am glad that I did.  You only get to play Portal 2 once, and I wanted that experience to be a pristine and spoiler-free as possible.

portal 2 glados

It certainly worked, I was completely unprepared for what was to befall me in this game.  When I first started I was almost bored as it felt like Portal all over again, but the game takes on so many twists you do not see coming, and a journey of discovery that, for me, truly ‘wowed’ me.  Portal 2 ‘wowed’ me in a way that the best games of this generation had.  I wish I could go into specific details, but if you have not played this game, like me you should go into it with as little knowledge as possible.

As for the nuts-and-bolts of the game, they were up to the challenge as well.  I believe I have gushed about the games story already, but the writing deserves a nod as well.  It again is fantastic in the same way that the original Portal was, but this time they turn it to 11.  The music is atmospheric and suits the game and your missions to a tee.  It reminded me very much of the late-70s sci-fi sound that you may here in the Mass Effect series.

Portal 2 bot

Graphics definitely convey the story and atmosphere of the game without being overbearing.  You just want to stare off into the distance and imagine what lies beyond.  Finally, the puzzles, because the core of a Portal game is solving puzzles (or testing as the game calls them).  The game is challenging, but not overly so.  Maybe three of the puzzles in the game had me scratching my head for a while, but in the end I was able to solve it all on my own.

With the single-player portion complete, I still have some co-op to play.  Also, as I really love the universe they have crafted around Aperture Science, I am looking forward to the arrival of my strategy guide as well as Portal 2: The Final Hours, which I just purchased of Steam.  Portal 2, a fantastic game, and as I stated off the top, what an adventure!

Official Portal 2 Website

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Mission Accomplished, Puzzle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

