Mission Accomplished: Homefront

Patriots…act!

HOMEFRONT-articleLarge

Golden GateGolden Gate – Complete chapter 7 in the Single Player Campaign                    Gamerscore = 10   Acquired on 30/03/2011


It feels like it has been a while since I completed a game.  This week I did manage to get a couple of games completed from my ever-growing pile.  First on my list was Homefront.  Homefront was probably the most talked about game of the last month for several reasons, but in the end all that mattered was that Homefront delivered a great action experience and perhaps created a new military FPS franchise to run alongside the Battlefield’s and the Call of Duty’s of the gaming world.

Homefront-5

With a few frustrating points along the way, Homefront was all in all a lot of fun to play, and what started out as a very grim story, came full circle and left the player with hope for this America’s future.  The game rewards the player with some vehicle-based missions and a climactic sunset battle on the Golden Gate bridge in San Francisco.  I was so taken by the visuals of the last mission that I went to Google Maps to revisit the scene to see how accurately they portrayed the Bay Area.

While I did enjoy, I do think the game relied a little too heavily on the Call of Duty style of play, but the game did also redeem itself by reminding me of the Ghost Recon franchise, one of my all-time favourite and sorely missed franchises.  As I did mention in my impression in an earlier post, the audio and art design in this game make up for its ‘me too’ gameplay.

I am looking forward to the sequel.  I am hoping that perhaps the next instalment will visit the East Coast to see how they fared during the Korean occupation.  I suspect that is where we will be going, because after all it has probably been weeks since we have seen a game detail an attack on the Capitol.  Developers just love to go there!

Homefront

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in FPS, Mission Accomplished. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mission Accomplished: Homefront

  1. Jon Allengame says:

    I really enjoied the game, but i thought it was way to short. When i finished it I thought there was alot more missions to do…..But there wasnt. lol

Leave a Reply

