Scare Tactics: Resident Evil Explodes in 2011

More than one way to skin a zombie!

Umbrella

It has been a busy week, and will be an even busier year, for Resident Evil fans.  All new games and fan-favourite remakes are on schedule for the upcoming year.  I thought now with all the information out there that it would be a good time to review the state of Resident Evil in 2011.

The mean streets of Raccoon City…

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City:  The biggest news from this week is the announcement of Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City.  Operation Raccoon City is a team-based shooter allowing four members of the USS team to destroy all evidence of the ongoing outbreak.  Along with slaying the zombies, you’re looking to “kill pretty much every survivor possible”.   For complete details please check out this article at StickSkills for as much details as they could scrape up.  For me it seems like Left 4 Dead set in the Resident Evil universe…that is not a bad thing!


re4

Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil Code: Veronica X Coming in HD this Fall:  Two of the greatest Resident Evil games that I own and never have completed, Resident Evil 4 and Code Veronica, are now coming to my Xbox LIVE Marketplace this Fall!  Just think, complete these old-school RE games and earn Achievements to boot!  This is not a bad thing at all.  Seeing then all enhanced and in HD will really bring the frights home!


Zombie horde mode!

Nintendo 3DS Sporting Two New Resident Evil Games:  This reason alone is only one I have for considering a 3DS purchase.  Resident Evil: The Mercenaries and Resident Evil: Revelations are two new games exclusive to Nintendo’s latest handheld.  While Revelations is a little ways off, a playable demo is included with Mercenaries when it arrives.  Mercs will also support online play so you can play with gamers from around the globe.


A lot of RE gaming to be had.  Even without the 3DS I will have my hands full with the other games I mentioned.  Also I will soon have a PSP where I will gather some of the older RE titles together.  Perhaps I will make a run through them this summer!

Capcom: Resident Evil Portal

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, FPS, Resident Evil, XBLA, Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scare Tactics: Resident Evil Explodes in 2011

  1. Cassie says:

    I’ll probably end up getting all of these, but I’m looking forward to Racoon City the most I think.

    I also think that your assessment seems very accurate, I wouldn’t mind playing Left 4 Dead in Racoon City, it adds the little switch of playing the bad guys rather than the every-man who is stuck in the middle of everything.

Leave a Reply

