Maniac Mansion

Days of tentacles…

box_maniacmansion

If you have been following this blog over the last six years you will know that I have been a gamer since its inception when pong ‘consoles’ came into peoples homes in the 70s.  Most of my tastes in games were developed in the late 80s  when my Commodore 64 was my game portal of choice.  The game that was probably the most influential and  still sticks with me to this day was Lucasfilm Games first self-published title, the action, comedy, horror, classic adventure, Maniac Mansion!

ManiacMansion_Animation2

mansion

Maniac Mansion is on my mind this weekend as I watched a very informative classic game post-mortem from this past Game Developers Conference (GDC).  It featured one of the game creators, and industry luminary, Ron Gilbert, discussing the creation of Maniac Mansion, its spin-off adventures, and its influence beyond the game.  The post-mortem van be viewed in it entirety here.

Why did I like it so much?  Several reasons.  I loved the spooky old mansion aesthetic, the comedy, the mild horror, the puzzles, inside jokes, and the fact that I did not need lightning-quick reflexes to succeed.  What saddens me is that I have never been able to easily acquire a newer version of the game.  I still have my original C64 version, but load times and accessibility to the hardware (i.e. setting a bunch of stuff up) makes it a difficult proposition to revisit.

With Gilbert’s other games such as The Secret of Monkey Island having seen rerelease, I am hoping Maniac Mansion will receive the same treatment.  An adventure game classic with scads of replay value, Maniac Mansion may be the best game you never played.  Don’t even get me started on Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders!

Maniac Mansion

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Commodore, PC, Retro, Survival-Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Maniac Mansion

  1. Paul says:

    I really need to give this game a try sometime! It’s constantly on “best of” lists; I just never grew up with a home computer for gaming, and missed out on every single point-and-click adventure from that era.

  2. Pingback: Commodore 64 Week | SUPERGHOST's Haunted House of XBOX

  3. Rich says:

    if you install the scummvm emulator you can play this once more. Of course, if you have a copy of day of the tentacle, its a bonus included in that. Also some fans made a more recent version that you can get at http://www.adventuregamestudio.co.uk/games.php?action=detail&id=401

  4. Jeff says:

    I loved this game as a kid and actually still play it to this day. I introduced my son to Dr. Fred and the whole gang. He plays his PS3 and modern day PC games, but I wanted to make sure he knew some of the great classics. Yup, I pulled my c64 from out of the attic, brushed it off and it all of those old disks still read in that old 1541! it was great to hear it grinding away again. Next weekend I am going to pull out the old Amiga 500 and introduce him to Zak!!

  5. Pingback: The Games of Commodore 64 Week: Zak McKracken | SUPERGHOST's Haunted House of XBOX

  6. Pingback: Kickstarting a Double Fine Adventure | SUPERGHOST's Haunted House of XBOX

Leave a Reply

