Mortal Kombat

Prepare to fight!

Scorpion

The early 1990s were the golden age for video game fighters.  Two games really stood head and shoulders above the rest, Street Fighter II and Mortal Kombat.  During this time arcades were still somewhat viable as console gaming was just on the cusp of beginning their crush of said industry, but the popularity of these two game franchises kept the quarters flowing steadily.

Fast forward to 2010 and Street Fighter has its renaissance.  Fast forward one more year and Mortal Kombat appears to be on the same trajectory and is only a few weeks shy of its grand reopening.  Present, like past, I tried to get into the Street Fighter series, but I never really clicked with it.  Mortal Kombat was always my preference, I think that is mostly in part that I found its brand of fighting considerably more accessible.  So I am looking forward to the latest iteration of the MK series to once again test my might, and also give fighting games another chance.

tournamenteditionxbox

I am also particularly interested in the Mortal Kombat: Tournament Edition which includes a fight stick in the style of the classic MK arcade cabinet button and stick layout.  This a great edition for those who really want to recapture MK’s heyday.  The stick also doubles as a storage case for all your MK goodies!

So it looks like another fighter will come into my life, and another fight stick.  I hope that for me it will recapture the good times my friends and myself had with the Dead or Alive games back in the day.  Somehow I suspect that it will be the case with Mortal Kombat.

Welcome – themortalkombat.com

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Fighters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

