Achievement Spotlight: Left 4 Dead

Revisiting the classic zombie-killer.

l4d

Ground CoverGround Cover – Save another Survivor from a Special Infected while on the ground. – Gamerscore = 30   Acquired on 02/02/2011


I always enjoy that feeling when you earn an achievement out of the blue.  The other bight we played all of about 15 minutes of the original Left 4 Dead, but in that short time while playing the Survival mode I was able to cash in on the above achievement!  What I also discovered is I missed playing the original L4D and its Survival mode was actually kind of fun. Trying to better your best time could be an addictive challenge, just be sure to bring some friends along for the ride.

left4dead1

More from Left 4 Dead.  On January 18, 2011, a patch came out for the game.  The Left 4 Dead Blog entails what was updated, I will pass it along here as well:

The ability to recover achievement progress that was lost after The Sacrifice release. Recovered progress will be added to any new progress made since the release. In a few cases it may not be possible to recover the data for every achievement, but the majority of players should see their progress restored.
The update also includes the following:
• In Versus mode Tanks will spawn in stasis until a human player takes over. Tanks in stasis are invisible and invulnerable, and won’t move or attack.
• Tank speed is no longer reduced when on fire.
• Allow players on the Infected team to manually spawn during finales.
• Added a vote option to toggle All-Talk.
• Special Infected that causes a Survivor to stumble into a “ledge hang” situation will receive 50 points.
• Bullets that first pass through an infected character before striking a Survivor are now ignored as friendly fire.
• In Versus mode car alarms will now trigger anytime a Special Infected pulls or stumbles a Survivor into an alarm car.
• Survivor Bots no longer try to melee exploding barrels out of their way.
• Fixed the Sacrifizzle achievement.

It is nice to see this level of support for an ‘older’ 360 game.  That I guess is the Valve difference.

Left 4 Dead

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Achievements, FPS, Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Achievement Spotlight: Left 4 Dead

  1. Cassie X says:

    I love that at a little over three years old the game is considered a classic.
    I still actively play this game all the time, it’s so awesome.
    I never look up acheivements. I have the most fun finding out what I’ve done once I have them.
    Valve is brilliant like that, they’re constantly updating and supporting old content free of charge.

  2. SUPERGHOST says:

    Certainly a classic in the zombie sense. It was early on the upswing in Zombie popularity. A lot of zombies dead under the bridge in alot of game since then. I would describe myself as one of those Achievement-whores, but not when they become immposible or not fun to get. Though it is an ‘older’ game, I would like to play it some more, I may even buy The Sacrifice for it (even though I already purchased it for L4D2).

Leave a Reply

