SUPERGHOST’s Game(s) of the Year 2010: Part 2

The Rest of the Best from 2010…

6 and 5

Yesterday I posted on my Games of the Year for the first half of 2010.  Today I will look at the home-stretch of 2010 and hand out the coveted ‘Ghosties’ to the games which I consider the most impressive.  We pick up the list with another game that I would give serious consideration to my overall GotY if I had to.  Here is a hint….look up.


Halo-Reach-Box-ArtHalo: Reach 

What more can you say about the best Halo game ever created?  Halo has been such a dominant brand over the last decade that perhaps it gets overlooked in GotY discussion due to a certain fatigue.  But don’t let that fool you, Halo: Reach is a game like no other, packing in so much variety and ways to play that it should be years before we see another core entry into this franchise.  Bungie’s Halo swan-song has produced the ultimate FPS experience on consoles, and while other shooters may be more popular at this time, they are still playing catch up with this seminal title.  With Alan Wake, this is my Game of the Year!


Enslaved_X360_BoxFront_FINALboxart_160wEnslaved: Odyssey to the West

Enslaved literally came out of nowhere to be one of my top games of 2010.  I loved the colourful vegetative post-apocalyptic future vision to harkens back to the motion picture Logan’s Run.  What really capture my imagination though was the games character’s, Monkey and Trip, which where brought to life by the wizards at Ninja Theory. I Do not think I have ever played a game where the in-game characters were so fully realized and where their emotions were so tangible.  On top of all that the game is a lot of fun as well.  My surprise treat of 2010.


kinectsportsfinal360boxart_160wKinect Sports

My favourite game of 2010.  Kinect surpassed my expectations, this was due in part mostly to a very strong showing by Rare’s launch title, Kinect Sports.  Kinect Sports is no slouch as it beat out very strong sports titles in Madden 11 and NHL 11, but as good as those games are they do not put you ‘in the game’ like Kinect Sports does.  I am looking forward to many more game sessions over the coming months with Kinect Sports and having a sweaty good time!.


FNV_box_art_X360_(US)Fallout: New Vegas

Fallout 3 was my most played game over the last 2 years.  Bethesda and Obsidian have given us more of the same in the form of Fallout: New Vegas.  And while New Vegas for me and so far does not quite match up to Fallout 3 overall, it is still the best RPG going.  You really cannot have enough wasteland to explore and for that reason alone New Vegas enters into my best games of 2010.


assassins-creed-brotherhood-xbox360-box-art

Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood

Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood is very much a similar situation that I recently covered with Fallout, the more Assassin’s Creed the better!  I am still very early on in my latest AC adventure but from what I have heard about the game and what I have played I can already tell that this game is worthy of this list.  With rumour’s of another AC in 2011, we may once again be bringing this franchise to the 2011 Ghosties.


Honourable Mentions:

  • BioShock 2 – While extremely similar to its predecessor, BioShock 2 makes up for it by being a more interesting game to play by tweaking the mechanics and situations you find yourself in.
  • Madden 11 and NHL 11 – Great version of these long-running sports franchises.  The inclusion of Game Flow to Madden 11 may be my Game Play innovation of the year.
  • Dance Central – Another game that shows what the Kinect can be capable of.

And that is the rest of the best.  2011 is already shaping up to be a banner year for the Xbox 360.  I just need to get through a lot of the games I already have so I can enjoy the ones coming up in the near future.  I hope to do a post on some of my anticipated 2011 titles, so stay tuned for that!

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Fallout, Halo, Kinect, Sports, Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

