SUPERGHOST’s Game(s) of the Year 2010: Part 1

The best of the best from early 2010…

SGhost

With 2011 just a few days away I think it is most fitting that I take a look back at the year that was in gaming and select my personal ‘Games of the Year’.  Each year I select a group of my favourite games as I can usually never narrow it down to just one.  This year, I will at least limit the group to my top-ten games.  So without further delay I present to you Part 1 of my ‘Games of the Year’ Top 10 Awards (or Ghosties for short) from the first half of 2010:


SilentHillSMSilent Hill: Shattered Memories

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories has the distinction of being the only non-Xbox 360 on my list.  Originally released on the Wii in 2009, the PS2 version did not see release until early 2010.  Shattered Memories blew me away when I played it, rivalling Restless Dreams (SH2) for my favourite Silent Hill of all time!  Shattered Memories breaks the Silent Hill paradigm by having to combat, instead there are intense chase scenes.  The game also plays you…but you really need to try the game to fully understand.  A classic game and one of the best of 2010!


masseffect2_1258506784

Mass Effect 2

Mass Effect 2 is an amazing RPG space opera that improves on its predecessor in nearly every away (except for planet exploration in my opinion).  With a large, galaxy-spanning story, amazing cut-scenes, tonnes of DLC, and an accessibility that few RPG’s achieve, Mass Effect 2 is a game that should be at the forefront of GotY lists across the board.


AlanWakeAlan Wake

If I was pressed to choose a ‘GotY’, Alan Wake would be my likely choice.  With story-telling and environments that are off the charts, Alan Wake delivers an experience like no other in 2010.  The setting, characters, graphics, and gameplay really spoke to me as well, and with a game ending of Lynch-ian proportions, this is the game I most want to see given a sequel.   While not a huge success in the stores, its daring should not be understated, and this game should not be overlooked by gamers.


SplinterCellConvictionSplinter Cell: Conviction

Like Alan Wake, Conviction was caught up in a long development cycle, but also like Alan Wake, Conviction delivered with a great story and play mechanics that once again moved the stealth-action genre forward.  Splinter Cell has always been one of my favourite franchise, but with its drawn out development, it has seemed to lose some of its steam as has all of the Tom Clancy games, but that does not take away from the game that Conviction was and is.


lara-croft-box-art

Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light

The Only XBLA game to crack my ‘Best of’ list.  Lara Croft took a beloved franchise and turned it on its ear and produced a fun and fast tomb raiding game and gave it some arcade flair.  Couple that with character upgrades and progression and you have a game that is worthy of a disk, not just download.  The negative on this game was the non-existent online co-op at launch which hamstrung its release, but it did not stop my enjoyment of the best Lara Croft game since the original Tomb Raider.


Honourable Mentions:

  • Red Dead Redemption – Widely considered gaming’s overall GotY in 2010, RDR failed to keep me engaged for the long haul, the same phenomenon occurred with GTA IV.  I blame my inability to get behind Rockstar’s control schemes.
  • Metro 2033 – A unique and ambitions FPS that I just could not find the time for.  I hope to revisit this game again in the future.
  • Blur – A fantastic combat-racer that failed to click with the masses.  I blame Activision for not giving this game a greater push.  A fantastic game in its own right from the tem that brought you Project Gotham Racing.

Stay tuned for Part 2 of my Games of the year discussion tomorrow.

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, RPG, Survival-Horror, Tom Clancy Games, XBLA, Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SUPERGHOST’s Game(s) of the Year 2010: Part 1

  1. Pingback: SUPERGHOST’s Game(s) of the Year 2010: Part 2 | SUPERGHOST's Haunted House of XBOX

Leave a Reply

