Halo Highlight Reel: Futures Past

Is the franchise’s future in the past?  Perhaps for the present…

Never a dull moment in the Halo universe.  In this edition of SUPERGHOST’s Halo Highlight Reel I throw my hat in the ring regarding the Halo HD remake rumours making the rounds on the ‘net and what 343 Industries may have up their sleeves.

HaloCE1

A few months back I mentioned to my friends online that I suspected that 343 Industries, the new caretakers of the Halo franchise, first project was going to be a HD remake of both Halo: Combat Evolved and Halo 2 in one package.  My theory was based on several factors which I will describe after the jump.

The Halo HD remake rumour has been gaining traction over the last few weeks, but back in late Summer when I first made the call I had not seen anything in the media that would lead me to that conclusion, rather I came to it on my own by just looking at the the Halo franchise and gaming in 2010.

My first thoughts were that 343 Industries has been ramping up for a long time, obviously working on Halo projects all the while.  With Halo: Reach fresh on our plates and built to last, a true Halo sequel (Halo 4) to me would be some time off, perhaps several years.  In my mind the next logical step for the series is the Reclaimer’s (a.k.a. Master Chief’s) and Cortana’s (see revelations at the end of Reach) homecoming to the Forerunner home world (as seen in Halo Legends and the final scene of Halo 3 on Legendary). 

Legendary_Planet

Home, sweet home…?

My thought is the next Halo trilogy will launch alongside Microsoft’s next console, but with the launch of Kinect we are at least 2-3 years out from a new console.  Some stop-gap Halo games are required, but games that are worthy of the games’ storied lineage.  I initially theorized that in the meantime  343 likely has a team remaking Halo and potentially Halo 2 to stem the gap and appease the Halo fandom. 

Sony has already set the precedent, bringing such franchises as God of War, Shadow of the Colossus, and Sly Cooper to the HD generation with all the bells-and-whistles that this generation has to offer.  The Halo remake would be a guaranteed money-maker, but 343 has to be extremely careful in porting such beloved classics.  It will be interesting to see the reaction of the fan base to these games.  I suspect this title will get the ODST treatment and sport the Halo: Reach multiplayer suite as in my opinion, it would be foolish to start a new Halo FPS multiplayer experience in this generation, especially trying to outdo the masters at Bungie.


xbox_kinect2

Kinect-Enabled Halo?:  My next prediction for the future of Halo…Halo for the Kinect.  We have already heard rumours of a Gears of War Kinect experience, so why not create a Kinect experience for the Halo crowd?  Now I am pretty sure that this game would not be a traditional FPS…not even close, but perhaps it would be some sort of bridging game experience, or a way to expand the game universe…play as Cortona?  Who knows, it is just a prediction after all.


To round things up, this is what I suspect 343 Industries is up to:

  • HD remakes of Halo: CE and Halo 2 that carry the Halo Reach multiplayer suite (ala ODST)
  • An original Halo game for the Kinect
  • A new Halo Trilogy (Halo 4, 5, and 6) for the next generation of consoles

Halo is Microsoft’s golden goose, and I think we will see a few golden eggs come our way over the next several years!

Halo Official Site

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Halo, Kinect, Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Halo Highlight Reel: Futures Past

  1. Ben says:

    Love the site…get you in my rss feed at work, so I can’t comment much but do read all of your posts. Had to comment on this though, as this a Halo HD remake/new console get me pumped, and these was my thoughts exactly. I believe with Modern Warfare 2, we started to see a plateau in what games can push, none more evident than Black Ops being on par, graphically, to its predecessor. You are spot on in talking about Kinect. If you look at the last major overhaul MS tried to inject into the 360, it was the NXE back in 2008. 2010 yields the Kinect, and 2012… a new console.

    The real test is going to be E32011. Kinect was announced at E32009, and released late 2010. The PS3 was announced at E32005, released late 2006. If they don’t announce a new Xbox in 6 months time at E3, then I think all bets will be 2013 for the new console based on prior announcement strategy for new hardware.

    As for the Halo remkae… it has to be a no-brainer. MS needs to remind people of their roots (ie, all of the COD fans who are under 15 years of age and have no clue about how great the first Halo really was). My only concern is the tweaking. I hope they leave the physics and game play alone. The bouncy physics engine pre-Havok really gave Halo 1 a unique feel. And in related to game play, Bungie did admit that the strength of the pistol was a mistake, but I believe that mistake helped create a better game. Hopefully the only thing touched will be the graphics engine.

    Anyway, long comment, but great post.

    • SUPERGHOST says:

      Thanks for the feedback on my post. I hope the potential Halo remake will stay as true as it can to the original. My brother says they should rework The Library level of Halo:CE as it was a very repetative environment. The Reach engine applied to Halo:CE would be something to behold, especially the flood.

      As for a new console, like you said we are plateauing on a technical level, but I think the economy is going to be the biggest obstacle to a new console generation. We might have to hunker down in this generation for awhile as console manufacturers and developers can make money now and are likely not ready to gamble on the future just yet.

      Time will tell. Again, thanks for the great comment.

Leave a Reply

