Halo Highlight Reel: Passing the Torch

Reach is nearly here, but ODST is here right now… 

Ever since Halo 2’s release I have loved the air and he excitement of a Halo launch.  The hype machine cranks up, the commercials hit the airwaves, and the internet catches on fire!  At this time we are just a little over two weeks from launch and personally I am very excited for what Reach will add to the Halo gaming legacy.  But before Reach dominates the Xbox game space (well, at least until it shares the limelight with Call of Duty) I still have some Halo gaming to do and some achievements to earn, and I have done so this weekend:

Halo 3: ODST

New Mombasa

Good Samaritan
Killed no Engineers in the city at night during entire campaign, alone or with another ODST.

Gamerscore = 20    Acquired 28/8/2010

Firefight: Security Zone
Scored over 200,000 points in Firefight on Security Zone.

Gamerscore = 10    Acquired 27/8/2010

I am slowly creeping up on getting all the achievements in Halo 3: ODST.  With Reach just around the corner I think it will be difficult to gather enough squad members to complete some of the remaining Firefight ones.  Presently I am nearing the end of another campaign play through on ODST.  As you can see above I earned the last campaign achievement that I needed.  Playing through the story again makes me appreciate what ODST had to offer, a small yet substantial Halo campaign that hits on all the notes of traditional Halo gameplay.  Be it vehicle piloting, sniping, ground ‘n’ pound, ODST gives you the familiar with levels you can play in the shortest of session.  Sort of a the casual gamers’ Halo experience.  ODST even takes the little-used Halo game mechanic of stealth and makes it a major factor in the night time portion of the game.

Even with the onset of Halo: Reach and its daily online regimen of challenges, I think I will still pick up ODST from time to time, the same way I revisit my other previous Halo games, after all the 1,000 Gamerscore is in sight.

Around the Halo

OdstAvatar

-By unlocking the ‘Good Samaritan’ achievement I was able to earn the ODST Armour award which unlocks via Halo Waypoint.  I think I will wear it for a little while.

-Other than ODST, I have been keeping my Halo chops up with some good, old-fashioned, Halo 3 multiplayer.  I have been focusing on Lone Wolf, Mythic, and Social hoppers.  It will be strange to get my hands back on Reach’s Armour-abilities, but I look forward to what they will bring to the game.

-On the book front, I picked up a GamePro, Halo Special, magazine as well as pre-ordered the hard cover guide for Reach.  I also recently picked up a used Halo: CE guide at a local store.  Not bad shape for a 9-year old guide.

Halo Reach is certainly on track to being the definitive Halo experience, but while I can, I am going to experience the Halo’s I have.

Bungie.net

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Halo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

