Mission Accomplished: Modern Warfare 2

mw2

For the Record
Complete the Single Player campaign on any difficulty.

Gamerscore = 35   Acquired 14/11/2009

The most anticipated game of this decade, and perhaps all-time was a bit of a slow burn for me.  Now I knew the multiplayer component was going to be a home run and the bulk of my game time was to be spent there, but the campaign is where my accomplishment resides and I will elaborate why it took some time for me to drink the Infinity Ward Kool-Aid this time around.

My initial feeling on the campaign was that it was more the same.  If you played Call of Duty 2 and Call of Duty 4, you would feel right at home in Modern Warfare 2, perhaps too at home.  For the better part of the first half of the game I really felt the IW campaign formula in full effect.  The feel of the shooting, the enemy AI, the level structure felt so been there, done that.  What turned me around was what is IW’s strengths, their set pieces and story telling.  As the story progressed, and expanded, and twisted, and became more outlandish, the more I started to get what they were doing.  Soon the repetitious gameplay of the campaign became secondary to wanting to find out what was going to happen next.

Now if you have completed the game you may have realized that the campaign length appears to be a little on the light side.  It took my self approximately five and a half hours to complete the campaign story.  Normally I might complain that it is too short a campaign for a video game.  This time I will argue that it was just about right, as I almost view this game as more a cinematic experience than a traditional video game, or perhaps a interactive cinematic experience.  Now I did play at the ‘Normal’ level, playing at harder levels would make for more of a challenge, but to be honest, I don’t play IW’s games for the challenge, I play for the experience.

At the end of the day, Modern Warfare 2 is a must play, or rather a must-experience for any  serious gamer, and even for those who just want to see what the fuss is about.  As for me I look forward to the next several months of multiplayer bliss.

Infinity Ward | Modern Warfare 2

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in FPS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

