360 X-Press: The Blockbuster Edition

The summer movie blockbuster season has pretty much ran its course with several smash having hit the screen.  Along with the movies came the corresponding games, and as usually the case with liscensed games they are mosty shovel-ware.  This year I have taken a chance on a couple of these games (for better or worse).  Lets have a look at them:


pirates-of-the-caribbean-3-at-world-s-end-0

GWIBT!  Well I am kind of giving it away early, but I picked up Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End this Saturday.  Back several weeks ago I watched the making for this game on XBL Marketplace and it didn’t look half bad.  Couple that with a recent price drop + coupon = $25 game, what id I have to lose?  Pirates is actually not a bad game.  I would best describe it as a game that does a lot of interesting and innovative things, but spreads them too thin accross the gameplay experience.  Had there been maybe a tighter focus this game could have exceled.  Regardless it is a fun, and if you are a fan of the movies, you will feel at home.  The game is a real looker.  the environments are great looking, but it comes at the expense of not being able to really interact with them.  I will play this one when the family is around, I will finish The Darkness when they are in bed.


spiderman

Spider-Man 2 was a cool game back on the Xbox, Spider-Man 3 is supposed to be pretty much the same with some hi-res graphics.  I bought this for my son, so I am not sure if I will try it or not.  I did discover the mechanocs are a little too over his head, but he can still swing around the city and climb buildings.  The jury is still out on this one, but with time being a consideration, I will likley just leave it alone.  At the end of the day, I think these two games will become trade-bait for the upcomming monster title Mass Effect.


SamFisher

I have been a huge SC fan from the get go, that is why I finnaly picked up Double Agent for the Xbox the other week (and for $7 no less).  I tried it out quickly yesterday, just long enough to notice that it was diffrent, and it played really smooth.  I look forward to tackling this game in the future!


That is enough for today.  I will spare you the afterthoughts this time.  Class dismissed.

-SGSmile

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

