SUPERGHOST’s Games of the Year

In the fine tradition of what everyone else is doing, I too will present my Games of the Year for your reading pleasure.  I will try to be as non-traditional as possible beacause that’s just the way I am.  I know you are waiting with baited breath to see what I picked:
 
Game(s) of the Year (tie) – Gears of War and The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

gow3

It would be difficult to pick one or the other, but based strictly on the ambition of each game, the fun I have had with each, graphics, and audio they both deserve spots at the top of my list.  While I have been unable to tap Oblivion fully yet, 2007 will see plenty more play from it.  These games should top any gamers list!


Bang Bang Game of the Year – Rainbow Six: Vegas

Even with all the Triple-A shooters that appeared on the 360this year, this one was a no-brainer.  RB6V is just that damn good.  I love the coop modes as well as the character creation and leveing-up that can be done, it also playes very tight with a great cover system.  Though Gears and GRAW are close runner-ups, Rainbow is the clear winner!


Zoom Zoom Game of the Year – Test Drive Unlimited

No other game took over my life this year like TDU.  A true go anywhere, do anything, see anybody racing/driving game.  There realy is too much to talk about this game to go on and there is no runner-up in this catagory.  TDU hands down the best game in its genre in 2006!


Sports Game of the Year – NHL 07

While most are raving about Fight Night Round 3 (and for good reason, download the demo for a taste), NHL 07 ramped up there title just as much creating a new control scheme and making hockey fresh once again!  It took me several games to deal with the control, but once I got the hang of it I don’t know if I could go back.  Two great games, one winner, NHL 07.


Live Arcade Game of the Year – Lumines Live

While there was a lot of hoopla surrounding the pricing of this game, I don’t understand why.  Lumines Live is the best puzzler on the 360 right now, and there is a lot of great ones out there!  I was slow to start out with this game, but once I started into it I can understand why it was the killer-app on that Portable System Player ;).  DOOM was a great addition this year as well, but I will side with new-gen today.


There were lots of great games this year.  It is hard to do a GotY list and not mention other titles, so here are some of the games that made the Honor Roll:

  • Dead Rising
  • Splinter Cell: Double Agent
  • Rockstar Present’s: Table Tennis
  • UNO
  • Viva Pinata
  • CHROMEHOUNDS
  • Jewel Quest

2007 is just around the corner and already some big games are just around the corner!  I have a suspicion already what will be next year’s game of the year, but with what is due out, it will be closer than you think.

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SUPERGHOST’s Games of the Year

  1. SCHUEY F1 says:

    I can agree withall those pic’s but Viva should get more recognition. Maybe you just need to play it more.

  2. Aaron says:

    so many great games …they all win

Leave a Reply

