Test Drive IS Unlimited

Test_Drive_ingame1

Does the above picture look familiar to you?  It may if you were a gamer in the late 80’s and your gaming rig of choice was a Commodore 64.  If you haven’ guessed by now you are looking at a screenshot from the original Test Drive published by Accolade in 1987.  I remeber playing this game back in the day on our 64. What set it appart from other games of the time was the realisitic sound effects and the ability to use real life super-cars is a realistic fashion.  Basically your track was just a road that wound up the side of a hill while you avoided traffic and speed traps, but for its time it was a fantastic racing simulator.

Test_Drive_gseq3

Nearly 20 years has passed since this gaming franchise has appeared on the market with many diffrent incarnations, some good, but most were lesser lights in the face of other great racing franchises such as Forza Motorsport, Gran Turismo, and Project Gotham Racing.  But this time the publisher and developer left nothing left on the table and created something unique in the genre…

tdu2

…this is now!

Test Drive Unlimited has stolen my gaming heart!  I have not been this enthalled by a video game since Phantasy Star Online’s heyday a few years back.  Everyday I want to play this game, and 3 hours can melt away in the blink of an eye.  I have often said that PGR3 would be the last racing game I would ever need, and in many ways that hasn’t changed.  TDU is not mearly a racing game, it is a racing life.

TDUMAP

Click to enlarge map

I could proably spend all day extolling the virtues of this game, but instead I will point out some of the finer points of this game:

  • 1600 km / 1000 miles of open roads!  Remember to take offroad side trips
  • M.O.O.R. racing – Massively Open Online Racing means never a shortage of opponents, they are everywhere!
  • 125 Cars and bikes and growing
  • Countless in game missions or create your own
  • Purchase new homes, clothes, car upgrades, paint jobs, etc.  So much to do…
  • …so you need to make money, lots of ways to do that!
  • Photo buffs can take in game pics and upload to the ‘net
  • And More!

The icing on the cake is that the MSRP on this game is $39.99 USD.  I picked up mine for only $44 CAN so there is no excuse not to own this game.  Like myself, you may not be able to put it down!

-SG

 

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Test Drive IS Unlimited

  1. Kevin says:

    That’s so funny.  I remember  that original Test Drive game  :p  heh heh heh

  2. Ben says:

    I just got this in the mail from Gameznflix.  I can’t wait to pop it in.  From the graphics to the MOOR concept, this one might join my library for good. 

  3. Eric says:

    What I loved about the original, if I remember it right, were the more subtle effects such as dirt on the windshield. I also liked the beeping radar detector above the windshield. We also used to marvel not only at the engine noise, but the dashboards too. The Ferrari Testarossa was definately a fave. That really takes me back to the C64 and Amiga days.

  4. Eric says:

    P.S. I love TDU. Great game. The massively multiplayer is great. I’ve gotten in some great road rage chases so far.

Leave a Reply

