360 X-Press #19: The PAX Edition

pxlogo

Penny Arcade Expo

Fellow bloggers and games have done a great job recently building community, writing articles, gaming, pod-cating, and all sorts of activties in order to tighten our community as much as possible.  Just recently my group of friends that we foundly refer to ourselves as the Metal Dragons (…or Minor Celebrities, or The Sore Losers, or whatever else we are calling ourselves this week) managed to finally cross paths with our new friends Sean80, ICandee, and Ruffneck which I will call for lack of a better term the Teh Bias Posse (TM). 

While it was short and sweet is was great to mix it up with like-minded gamers and have good, clean, fun (well at least until CA pipes up).  As our network of gaming/blogging friends expends I have often thought that it would be cool to get everyone together in person and have a party!  I know this is a far fetched dream that could never possibly happen…or could it?

Today I was reading about PAX, or the Penny Arcade Expo, which is essential a big convention/party/tourament for gamers like ourselves.  9000 attended last year with this years to be even bigger and better with companies such as Microsoft and the big ‘N’ leading the sponser charge.  I would love to attend this years, reading about it makes it look like so much fun.  But let me just put out a bold and grand idea, an idea so grand that there is no possible way I could do it on my own, but maybe with a community led charge…

Xbox Live: Homecoming 2007, at the Penny Arcade Expo at Bellevue, Washington, Summer 2007.  I know there is so many obsticles in the way of making this a reality, but even if some of us could be there we could build on it.  I would like to know what my friends in the community think, is this something we could do?  I would like to meet my friends in person someday…it would be ‘teh best day evar!’

 

graw

GRAW Premium Content

It has been a few weeks since I have had a chance to X-Press myself on the goings on in 360ville, so lets see what is up:

  • GRAW Premium Content DL=1200 points.  Seems to be a lot of debate on the subject.  Well here is my opinion:  Gamers need to get used to the IDEA of paying for premium DL content, it is not going away, it is the standard.  Fortunatly NOBODY is required to own the content to enjoy the package that comes off the shelf.  Developers don’t work for free either, they do work to create compelling content that gamers all but demand.  So in closing I have two more thoughts. 1) 1200 points is reasonable for the content recieved. 2) Microsoft needs to find a way to get popular DL out to purchasers in a better fashion.  Hours upon hours is unaccepatable.
  • The Prey demo has been delayed, this doesn’t bother me as much as I would rather play the levels in purchased form
  • The XBLA Portfolio Manager was on Major Nelson’s recent blogcast:  Street Fighter II still has technical issues and will likley appear this summer when it is done.  Texes Hold ’em has some marketing issues and will be available again before summer is out or sooner!  Lumines Live, Frogger, Cloning Clyde, Robo-blitz (an Unreal Engine XBLA game), Pac-Man, and more coming very soon!
  • Gaming titles have been lean as of late, July will pick up as Prey and CHROMEHOUNDS arrive.

I have rambled long enough, it is Friday and football is on so until next time, stay frosty!

-SG

About SUPERGHOST

I like CFL Football, Video Games, and Social Media....so here I am!
This entry was posted in Xbox 360. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 360 X-Press #19: The PAX Edition

  1. Brian says:

    I’d love to go but Vermont is a heck of a long way from Wash.

  2. Sean R. says:

    That would be cool to have a get together.  Unfortunately my vacation time for this year is all used up.  Perhaps next year.  :)   All the XBLA content is awesome but where is Contra?  Argh!!

  3. Aaron says:

    just keep bringing the games man , i love my 360 !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. I says:

    Summer 2007?  I could get on board for that, plenty of time to plan.  :)

  5. Aaron says:

    nice theme for ur ur blog….lol

  6. SCHUEY F1 says:

    1200 points ($15) for basically 4 maps is not a micro payment it is
    a macro payment.  I bough it because I want to play the maps, but
    we are getting screwed!  5 COD2 maps for 800 points is a bit more
    reasonable, but not by much.

Leave a Reply

